Home / Training (page 3)

Training

5 Ways to Support Your LGBTQ+ Colleagues…

5WaysSupportLGBTQColleagues_ThomasFaull.jpg

A number of countries are celebrating Pride this month, including the U.K., U.S. and Australia. And yet, despite progress and increased public support for LGBTQ+ equality in recent times, many people who belong to the community are still discriminated against, in the workplace and outside of it. In fact, according ...

Read More »

Three Reasons Answers Are More Important Than Questions…

AnswerIntelligenceCOVER.jpg

In grade school, you learned about the six “WH” questions (why, what, when, where, who, how). You did not learn about a parallel list of answer types. I’ve picked out three quotes for this piece that I consider to be representative of society’s thought leaders. These luminaries, too, are focused ...

Read More »

Building Community – Join Our #MTtalk!…

Building-Community-Blog-Title-Card.jpg

Please Join Us! What: #MTtalk Where: Twitter When: June 18, @1pm ET (5pm GMT / 10:30pm IST) Topic: Building Community Host: @Mind_Tools One of the most important things you can do on this earth is to let people know they are not alone. Shannon L. Alder, American author About This ...

Read More »

Is Working Long Hours at Home Killing You?…

mindtoolstips-1200-x-628-px-3.png

Working long hours isn’t new – we’ve all stayed late at work to finish an upcoming project, or worked through a lunch break or two. But did you know that working long hours could actually be killing you? Working Hours: What You Told Us We recently asked our social media ...

Read More »

Building Connectedness – #MTtalk Roundup…

GI_1221463264_RyanJLane-scaled.jpg

If we accept that the theory around Six Degrees of Separation is accurate, then we are only six steps away from a relationship with someone, anyone, throughout the entire world. Hungarian Frigyes Karinthy wrote about this phenomenon long before the invention of the internet, in his 1929 short story, “Chains.” ...

Read More »

You’re Never Too Old: My Midlife Career Change…

DavidGledhill-edited-scaled.jpg

Until recently, I believed that a career change at 50 was almost impossible. No one wants to invest in someone with such limited working life left, I thought. Fortunately, I have a much more optimistic view now, having achieved a midlife career change unexpectedly. I’ve just started my new career ...

Read More »

Building Connectedness – Join Our #MTtalk…

Building-Conectedness-Blog-Title-Card.jpg

PLEASE JOIN US What: #MTtalk Where: Twitter When: June 4, 1 p.m. EST (6 p.m. BST/10.30 p.m. IST) Topic: Building Connectedness Host: @Mind_Tools About This Week’s Chat “Every problem emerges from the false belief we are separate from one another, and every answer emerges from the realization we are not.” ...

Read More »

Language That Divides — Join Our #MTtalk!…

Language-That-Divides-Blog-Twitter-Title.jpg

Please Join Us! What: #MTtalk Where: Twitter When: May 21, 1 p.m. ET (6 p.m. BST/10:30 p.m. IST)  Topic: Language That Divides  Host: @Mind_Tools   About This Week’s Chat  “You cannot say something about something without revealing something about yourself.” Mokokoma Mokhonoana, South African author Language has always fascinated me. It’s something unseen that we use to shape the world. It has ...

Read More »

Diversity Dividend Pays off With Rebel Ideas…

Rebel-Ideas-COVER-1.jpg

Does it ever seem like the people around you are quite similar? To you and each other. I get that feeling playing soccer. My weekly game has six Alastairs in it. If you walked by, all you’d hear is, “Al! One-two,” “Square ball, Ally,” or “Goal-side, Aaahl,” shouted over and ...

Read More »